NewsRacing 25 February 2018

Gioele Bertolini seals first Elite MTB win in Verona

One-two for Northwave Ghost XC at Verona MTB International (Italy): Team Focus Selle Italia’s U23 European Champion preceded teammate Andrea Tiberi. Linda Indergand in the spotlight at Cyprus Sunshine Cup, winning the opening prologue

Gioele Bertolini’s first win in the Mountain Bike as Elite athlete came on the first attempt. After a strong first Elite season in cyclocross, ended with the 6th place at the World Championships in Valkenburg (Netherlands), the 22-year-old Cross Country MTB European Champion, equipped by Northwave with Ghost XC shoes and Skeleton gloves, landed the spoils at Verona MTB International (Northern Italy), on Sunday February 25th.

After being slowed at the start, the athlete of Team Focus Selle Italia came back to the lead of the race in lap 2, interpreting in the best way the circuit in the “Parco delle Colombare”. With a quartet then at the front, with Bertolini, Andrea Tiberi, Estonian Martin Loo and Frenchman Stephane Tempier, “Gio il Bullo” eventualoy forced the pace and went clear in the final lap, waiting for Tiberi on the finishing straight for a parade celebration. Loo went on to secure third place, with Tempier in fourth.

The Mountain Bike season has started in the best way - said Bertolini about his first XC win with Ghost XC, the first Mountain Bike shoes by Northwave featuring the exclusive XFrame® technology, that eliminates the pressure points on the upper. - “I came to Verona with good feelings, carrying a solid condition as it showed during the race. Tiberi and I collaborated to control the race, until we gave the final acceleration in the last lap.

Focus XC Team’s Linda Indergand claimed her first seasonal win with Northwave Ghost XC in Cyprus Sunshine Cup’s opening prologue, in Cyprus. On Thursday February 22nd, the 24-year-old Swiss preceded Anna Van der Breggen and Githa Michiels, whilst another Northwave’s athlete, U23 XCO World Champion Sina Frei, finished fourth in the GC, 6’49” behind overall winner Anna Van der Breggen.

Power by

Download Free AZ | Free Wordpress Themes